what does this mean?

I am very good at sharing my heart in writing: over texts, over email, over a blog…

but not good at talking in person or on the phone.

Why?

Is one less personal, since I don’t see the other party face to face? Is it because I am a “writer” so I can simply communicate better through the written word than the verbal?

or is it insecurity, and the desire for a distance that somehow exists over email and texts but is absent when the person is looking inoto your eyes and hearing the tremble of your voice?

2 responses

  1. This is one thing that I’ve found as typical of this generation. You are not even close to the only one who struggles with this…

    But you have the right idea with both the writer in you and the insecurity (which I still have too).

    Hope your trip is a great one!

  2. I have no answer, but I completely relate. And I don’t know that it’s typical of our generation… most of my friends much prefer a phone call and I find that very nearly painful. I do try. But I don’t enjoy it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

