Why: Why Wednesdays?

I thought a rather good place to start with this Why Wednesdays phenomena is to explain the reasoning behind this latest venture.

I’ve done other attempts at providing structure or consistency on my blog. Most, if not all, of these have failed. But there are things right now which are constructing my life in such a way that I have more to share and more to hope for from this blog.

I also want the accountability that this will provide. I have a specific day now, each week, on which you will expect a new post. It’s going to keep me in line.

It also forces me to think. God knows I’m already doing a good deal of that thanks to seminary. I love this. The intellectual  challenge was a huge reason for my return to Academia. But “Why Wednesdays” will require me to break down, practically, why I think and live the way I do. Self examination and all that jazz. [thanks 7th grade overview of Socrates for that quote]

But I am doing this for you as well. I want to engage you, not just prattle on to you about my life. And if I do someday take this thing public, I want you to know the direction I am headed. I want you to know what you can expect and I want you to grow with me as I practice more explanatory and defensive writing in preparation for a thesis and future dissertation.

And, let’s be honest, it’s a great way to procrastinate each week.

Leave a Reply

