lately

going back to school, renegotiating some things in friendships, wrestling through where God is calling me, and a variety of other thought processes have led me to appreciate the words in this Avett Brothers song: The Perfect Space.

I wanna have friends that I can trust,
that love me for the man I’ve become not the man that I was.
I wanna have friends that will let me be
all alone when being alone is all that I need.

I wanna fit in to the perfect space,
feel natural and safe in a volatile place.
And I wanna grow old without the pain,
give my body back to the earth and not complain.

Will you understand when I am too old of a man?
And will you forget when we have paid our debt
who did we borrow from? Who did we borrow from?

Leave a Reply

