WHY: The Time Wasters

It’s finals next week here at Seminary. That means I have a paper due tomorrow, another due Tuesday and four exams before next Friday. I also have a conference at church this weekend, a garden to plant and work to keep up with. But really, it’s no big deal.

In fact, it’s such an easy, carefree time that I’m blogging right now, rather than editing the paper due tomorrow. I don’t need to revise that piece of artwork, I thoroughly thrashed the book I was reviewing and backed up every argument to the point of a walled in fortress that could never be successfully assaulted. Yes, Ladies and Gentlemen. It may have gone over the page limit, but it was necessary. I’m sure the grader will agree.

This morning I arrived on campus at 8am and met with a friend. This afternoon I’m going on a run. Tonight I work and have a study session. See?! Study session tonight for an exam more than a week away! I’m clearly prepared for anything the professor might throw in my general direction. So what else do I have to do today besides checking my Facebook and enjoying a variety of videos on Youtube?

Time wasting? Procrastinating? No.

These social media sites are far from addictive time wasters. They are:

Educational. For example, as a young woman with many friends of the male persuasion I was shown this video only an hour ago. It’s not for the squeamish or those disturbed by dark humour. It’s the story of an eagle attacking a goat twice its size. But please, enjoy. If you need a biologically educational study break–which I had earned after an hour of socializing and complaining about my paper–here’s the video for you!

Communicative. Please enjoy the recent status update on my Facebook:

Informative. The Denver Channel informed me via Facebook that the Charger’s Linebacker Junior Seau has died after being shot in his San Diego home. Police are starting an investigation. Also, let’s be honest. You’re getting an update on my life from this post. Clearly this other use of social media (blogging) is informative. Who doesn’t want to know what’s happening in the life of Sara B— at 1.58PM Wednesday the 2nd of May 2012 AD? That’s right. No one. Because everyone wants to know.

Formational. One name: S. M. Lockridge. I got chills listening to this man in my Church History class yesterday. I kid you not. I had goosebumps from a cassette tape that warbled the great man’s voice. Watch it: That’s My King. Be transformed.

Deceptive. Finally, I’ll admit. Youtube and Facebook are deceptive because they steal away my time before I even realize it’s gone missing. Dangit. I just practiced emotional cutting in surfing through pictures of friends who are engaged, married, pregnant; I’m still single. That’s terrible. Facebook just told me my life was incomplete and that with the right social life it would be vastly  better. It said that I was lacking something other than just Jesus. Youtube promised distraction, but I was reminded, once I hit the pause button, this is real life and it isn’t going away. Crap. Shoot son.

I’ve got finals next week. I’ve got work tonight. I have bills to pay and people to love.

I need to get crackin’.

Leave a Reply

