Parenting

I’ve been a nanny over the summer.

If there’s one thing I learned, it’s to never tell God you’d like to learn patience. Don’t say it lightly, or he might just send you a pair of difficult children in what was already destined to be a hard season of life.

It’s been a real pain in the ass.
It’s also been a real season of growth.

There will be more posts than this one, to be sure. But what I wanted to say today was that I’m learning how to thank God for trying, annoying and frustrating learning experiences. G loves to remind me that sanctification is never easy; that’s what makes it sanctifying. This summer, as a nanny, I’ve re-discovered my selfishness and my incredible laziness. Half the time I want the kids to do their “chores” because I know it will be good for them in the long run (learning responsibility). The other half I want them to do their chores so that I don’t have to do the work for them.

It’s how my newlywed friends describe marriage: a mirror. One in which you are suddenly confronted with all your faults.

I’ve been paid really well, I’ve gotten a nice tan, and I’ve had some good adventures with the girls. But what I am most grateful for is not the money, the excursions to the aquarium, the pool side afternoons stung by the scent of chlorine and swim diapers. I am most grateful for the chance to learn, to grow, and to realize that it’s a dang good thing I’m saved by grace and not by works or I’d be in a heap of trouble.

One response

Leave a Reply

