Sheet Rock (Dry Wall) + Foot = Another Injury

E called Monday while I was out with a friend. From the tone in his voice it was obvious that he was either very tired or something had gone wrong. Because E is always tired after a typically twelve hour day I had a feeling that this conversation was going to be more about something bad that had happened at work.

He fumbled for words. I would find out later when I yelled at him and cried that it was because he didn’t want to worry me. I took the stumbling sentences as added seriousness about the situation. He wasn’t supposed to be at the house today, he was supposed to be in the mountains painting while a dry walling crew put up sheet rock. We had eaten dinner at the house the night before, a dinner of black eyed peas, avocado, tomatoes from our garden, corn and a few other ingredients tossed in a tangy dressing. We sat on the deck where they haven’t yet built the rail and dangled our feet over the cement below, littered with scraps of metal, wood and flaking paint. But for some reason he had been at the house, helping with the dry wall.

His coworker L had lost a grip on a massive sheet of the stuff. He clawed the open air but never caught the wall. I can see the look on the poor college kid’s face–he’s a good kid, quiet and reserved–as he watched the dry wall crunch into E’s shin and slide down till it pinned his foot. They had to pry it off with a 2×4 because it was too heavy to lift. 400 pounds too heavy.

I went over the next night and sat with E for a little while as he iced with a package of frozen peas. “these are the best for icing,” he said with a cheerful smile and settled onto the couch.

I cried because it’s been a long couple of weeks and I’m stressed and worried about nearly everything in life. Ethan just wrapped his arms around me and reminded me:

We don’t have to be stressed, and I don’t have to worry–about where to live, where to work, or how E’s job can at times be a little sketchy. God takes care of us, and he protected E’s foot from serious injury. In fact, the number of close calls E has had at work are remarkable and we can thank either dumb luck or thank God that he has an eye on us.

Our father is so good.

Not just for saving E’s foot, his shin etc. Abba is very good for giving me a man like E who constantly reminds me where to place my trust and peace; something I need reminded of nearly every day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?
Leave a Reply

